I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2012 (SECOND) Regular Session

Resolution No. 459 -31 (cov)

Introduced by:

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

Judith T. Won Rat, Ed.DC T.R. Muña Barnes B.J.F. Cruz

Relative to commending and congratulating the Asmuvao Community School on the occasion of its award of full accreditation from the Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC) Accrediting Commission for Schools, and in recognition of the organization's forty(40) years of commitment to ensuring an educated island community and service to the people of Guam.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I 1 2 MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN

WHEREAS, forty (40) years ago, on April 24, 1972, the Asmuyao Community School was founded, offering an alternative approach to education to help ensure an educated island community; and

WHEREAS, the Asmuyao Community School has validated its educational processes by earning an award of full accreditation status from the Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC) Accrediting Commission for Schools; and

WHEREAS, the earned accreditation certificate from WASC that grants official recognition for a period of six (6) years, until June 30, 2017, speaks of the confidence of the WASC accrediting team in the Asmuyao Community School evolution - "that the school is a trustworthy institution of learning, validates the integrity of a school's program and student transcripts" and assures that the "school's purposes are appropriate and being accomplished through a viable educational program"; and

WHEREAS, since its organization, the school has served hundreds of students from all walks of life, including students who want to graduate early, students who are "at risk" of not graduating with their class, students who are about to become parents, and adults who need to obtain a High School Degree to advance in their professions, thus helping to ensure a better future for each individual student and the island community-at-large; and

WHEREAS, as part of its service program to the island, *Asmuyao* encourages prospective teen mothers to continue their education by offering classes at no cost during the latter part of their pregnancy; *Asmuyao* also extends assistance to individuals possessing a General Education Development (GED) Diploma who need to obtain a High School Diploma to enter into military service; and

WHEREAS, the *Asmuyao Community School* provides a valuable service to the island community, serving approximately two hundred seventy five (275) students annually; and

WHEREAS, Asmuyao is led by its Board of Trustees, including Ms. Vera De Oro, Member-at-Large; Mr. Vandrick Leon Guerrero, Student Representative; Ms. Josephine A. Neri, Treasurer; Mr. Craig Reyes, Secretary; Ms. Clara Peterson,

President; and Mr. John Randolph "Rand" Coffman Jr., Director; and

WHEREAS, 2011-2012 Academic Year Ms. Cathy Lujan, Education Consultant for Student Response; Ms. Julie Perez, Education Consultant for Curriculum Management; Ms. Joni Serisola, Education Consultant for Curriculum Design; Ms. Vera Elliot Education Consultant for Student Support; Ms. Beatriz

39	Camacho, Cour	iselor ai	nd Dina S	Santo	s, Language	e Arts; M	r. Da	niel A	Aquino, Ma	th; Ms.
40	Sally Cabrera,	Social	Studies	and	Chamorro	Studies;	Mr.	Ray	Guerrero,	Social

41 Studies; Dr. Anita Balmeo and Ms. Nenita Salinas, Science; Mr. Jesse Castro, Drivers

42 Education; and Brittney Cruz, Office Manager now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that the Committee on Rules of I Mina'Trentai Unu Na Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the people of Guam, commend and congratulate the Asmuvao Community School on the occasion of its forty (40) years and earned six (6) year Accredited status from the Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC) Accrediting Commission for Schools; and be it further

48 49

RESOLVED, that the Speaker and the Chairman of the Committee on Rules certify, and the Legislative Secretary attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to the Board of Trustees, Mr. Vandrick Leon Guerrero, Ms. Clara Peterson, Mr. Craig Reyes, Ms. Josephine A. Neri, and Ms. Vera DeOro, and to the staff Mr. John Randolph "Rand" Coffman Jr., Ms. Cathy Lujan, Ms. Julie Perez, Ms. Beatriz Camacho, Ms. Joni Serisola, Ms. Vera Elliot, Mr. Raymond Guerrero, Ms. Dina Santos, Mr. Daniel Aquino, Ms. Sally Cabrera, Dr. Anita Balmeo, Mr. Jesse Castro, Ms. Nenita Salinas, Brittney Lynn Cruz, and to the

57 Superintendent of the Department of Education; and to the Honorable Edward J.B.

58 Calvo, I Maga Lahen Guåhan.

43

44

45

46

47

50

51

52

53

54

55

56

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF IMINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE DAY OF 2012.

JUDITH T. WON PAT, Ed.D. Speaker

RORY J. RESPICIO Chairperson, Committee on Rules TINA ROSE MUÑA BARNES Legislative Secretary